California's DUI Laws
While the BAC legal limit is recognized as 0.08% for most drivers, each state often has its own set of guidelines and regulations regarding the penalties associated with a DUI or DWI. While an experienced DUI attorney can help you if you are charged with a DUI, one of the best ways to protect yourself is to understand your state's laws.
Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits
Your blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, can be determined through a blood, breath, or urine test. In order to be charged with a DUI in California, most drivers must have a BAC of 0.08% or above; however, individuals who have a commercial driver's license can be charged with DUI for a BAC of 0.04% or above. In addition, individuals who are under the age of 21 or those already on probation for a previous DUI can be charged if their BAC is above 0.01%.
Penalties for DUI Charges
The penalties for a DUI charge in the state of California vary based on the type of DUI. For example, individuals charged with a first DUI are usually found in violation of the Vehicle Code Section 23152(a) or 23152(b), and may be fined anywhere between $390 and $1,000 plus penalty assessments. First convictions may also lead to jail time, loss of driver's license for a period of 6 months, and mandatory completion of a DUI program. Individuals charged with a second or third DUI are often subjected to higher penalties. Those who are charged with a commercial DUI typically face the same penalties as those convicted of a first offense DUI; however, many commercial drivers also face a one year suspension of their commercial driver's license.
Whether you're facing a first, second, or third DUI charge, Amy Morell Law is here to help. Learn more about your options and let our firm defend your case by contacting Amy Morell at (510) 314-8736 today!