In California, a DUI (California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a) or (b)) and a wet reckless (California Vehicle Code Section 23013 within 23103.5) are two different charges. Typically, a wet reckless is a reduced charge to a DUI, often times referred to as a lesser included offense. A wet reckless and a DUI are both misdemeanors. However, a wet reckless court probation term is typically less than a DUI, but not always.
Also, the court fine is lower. Most importantly, a wet reckless does not require the Level One DUI school - a 15 week, 2 hours per week program - instead a 6 week, 2 hour per week program is typically ordered. Also, in counties where an ignition interlock device (IID - a breathing device placed on the vehicle) is required upon a DUI conviction, a wet reckless would not trigger this requirement. This can be a very expensive requirement. Also, car insurance requirements can be lessened by a wet reckless.
Is your case a good case for a wet reckless? Please call me to discuss you case. (877)-366-9440
For more information, or if you need a DUI attorney, contact us or give us a call at (877) 366-9440. Morell Law Office is a highly-experienced DUI practice. We specialize exclusively in DUI; with over 17 years experience, we know the ins and outs of DUI defense.